The Deadline has now passed – no more entries will be accepted.

Poirot actor DAVID SUCHET and Downton Abbey creator JULIAN FELLOWES are amongst four judges for a new play award to honour Sir Terence Rattigan’s unique contribution to British drama.

From left to right: David Suchet CBE, Barbara Longford (Chairman), Michael Wheatley-Ward (Theatre Liason), Princess George Galitzine MBE (President), Julian Fellowes

The Terence Rattigan Society Award
Update 27th December, 2016
35 best plays, go forward to third reader stage.

The Judging panel is pleased to announce that all submitted scripts have been read by two of our readers and we have arrived at a Longlist of the 35 plays with the best marks and reports. These plays will now go forward to a third reader. Here is a list of the titles of the Longlisted plays, in alphabetical order.

A Case of You
After the Ball
Around Whole
Artists and Models
Better Left Unsaid
Blackstone Rites
Breakfast by Candlelight
Broken English
Broken Wings
Church Hurt
Collective Experience
Flies to Wanton
Funes, The Memorious
Further Education
Going Back
Hippolyta’s Handyman
Ladybird Ladybird
Las Majas
Lenin in Poland
Mad Musings
Mutual Needs
The Minotaur
The Onion at the End
The Rattigan Affair
The Wild Boy
Things We Should Have Said Today
White Island
Windows of Heaven
Wrong Move


HUGE SUCCESS for The Terence Rattigan Society Award for a new play for the theatre.

Update – October, 2016.

The Society is delighted to announce that by the closing date (end of August 2016) one hundred and ninety seven (197) scripts had been submitted for this award. Seven of these scripts were ineligible as they did not fit the criteria set out by the Society in the published rules.

We are now considering 190 scripts submitted from all over the UK. All scripts received have had an electronic acknowledgement and most of these 190 scripts have been sent out, anonymously, to two separate readers. When all the reports have been received, a longlist of plays will be sent on to a third reader.

The standard of submissions has been extremely high. To date thirty seven scripts have already been identified as having potential and will be read by a third reader and in addition many scripts have not yet been reported on by two readers.

The 20 best plays will go on to the next stage and eventually a shortlist of three plays will be selected and sent to the Final Judges – Thea Sharrock, Julian Fellowes, David Suchet and Professor Dan Rebellato.

This process will take rather longer than anticipated, due to the excellent response. We cannot say yet when the results will be announced, but please watch this space.


Poirot actor DAVID SUCHET and Downton Abbey creator JULIAN FELLOWES are amongst four judges for a new play award to honour Sir Terence Rattigan’s unique contribution to British drama.

The Terence Rattigan Society Award is one of the few given for a new play for the theatre. The award winner will receive £2,500 and the play will be guaranteed a professional production of no less than six performances at the Sarah Thorne Theatre in Kent in the Summer of 2017. Equally attractive is the second prize of £1,000 and a guaranteed rehearsed reading. The other judges are director, Thea Sharrock and academic and Rattigan expert, Professor Dan Rebellato.

Welcoming the award, David Suchet said: “I’m thrilled that the Terence Rattigan Society is offering an award for a new play in his name. As one of this country’s true masters of the dramatists’ craft, it is a fitting tribute to his enormous contribution to the theatre”.

His fellow judge Julian Fellowes commented: “Terence Rattigan is one of England’s greatest playwrights whose light was hidden under a bushel for far too long before his recent rediscovery. An award in his name, dedicated to finding new talent and bringing it out of the darkness for the public to enjoy, seems only fitting.”

Download Media Pack

Download Media Pack (Text-Only Version)


Copyright © Dandelion by Pexeto